Tag Archives: Ashutosh

Underground Authority declared winners of Hornbill International Rock Contest 2013!


The results of the much-awaited Hornbill International Rock Contest  are out! This year, the winning band that bags the coveted 1 Million Rupees cash prize is Kolkata’s Underground Authority. Kolkata nails it yet again with a successive win this year after Gingerfeet‘s win in 2012 similar to its successive win in 2006(Joint Family) and 2007(Hobos). The first runners up were We the Giants from Nagaland and the second runners up were The F16s from Chennai.

Underground Authority bagged the top prize of a whopping INR 10,00,000/- , followed by  We the Giants who won INR 2,50,000/- for the second place and The F16s who won INR 1,50,000/- for the third place. The prize for Best Vocals(Rs. 30,000) went to Santhanam Srinivasan Iyer from Underground Authority, Kolkata, Aren Longkumer from Infuse, Nagaland won the prize for Best Guitarist( Rs. 30,000 plus a guitar sponsored by Ibanez), Soumyadeep Bhattacharya from Underground Authority, Kolkata was declared as the Best Bassist(Rs.30,000), Sourish Kumar (Underground Authority) bagged the prize for the Best Drummer (Rs. 30,000 plus an Iron Cobra double bass pedal sponsored by TAMA) and the Best Keyboardist(Rs.30,000) award went to Harshan Radhakhrishnan from The F16s, Chennai.

Nine bands (Making Merry – Nagaland, White Noise – Nagaland, We The Giants – Nagaland, Underground Authority – Kolkata, The F16s – Chennai, Sycorax – Darjeeling, Nigambodh – New Delhi, The Urban Earlymen – New Delhi, 4 Degrees of Freedom – Ranchi) took part in the finals this year. The competition was judged by Ashutosh, Purab Kohli and Dirang Lungalang.

List of Hornbill Rock Contest winners so far:

– Underground Authority from Kolkata

2012 – Gingerfeet from Kolkata

2011 – Indigo Children from New Delhi

2010 – Slain from Bangalore

2009 – OFF from Nagaland

2008 – Verbs from Shillong

2007 – Hobos from Kolkata

2006 – Joint Family from Kolkata