The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence by Reptilian Death

By Prasanna Singh on 24/06/2013 at 5:14 pm

The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence by Reptilian Death
The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence Reptilian Death
  • Primeval
  • Inchoate
  • Stimulate, Hike, Impel, Tear
  • Soaked With The Imperfections Of Puerile Blood
  • Emerge, Hatred, Emerge
  • O
  • Now You Graze Upon Me
  • Marvelous Gods - The Apple Of My Eye
  • Emergence - The World, Your Playground

Sahil Makhija, aka The Demonstealer, is a busy person. If he’s not busy with his flagship project Demonic Resurrection, then he’s busy trying to rub your funny bone with Workshop. Or maybe (if you’re lucky) you get to be his guinea pig for the day and sample his demonic cooking (damn I wished I lived in Mumbai!) And let’s not forget his solo projects, his guitar and processor endorsements, his endless promotion of the Indian metal scene, and god knows what else! With his fingers in so many pies it is amazing how he manages time to bring out another album for his death metal project Reptilian Death.

Titled The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence, Reptilian Death’s sophomore effort is characterized by some very sleek production, making it a novelty buy for collectors of original Indian metal albums. Even the artwork on the album cover is an eye catcher, and it really does arrest you, though whether you like it or not is a different question altogether. The album name as well as the names of each of the 12 tracks on hand make for good reading too!

The album opens with ‘Primeval’ a short intro that does well to put into place the mood for the rest of the album. Next, ‘Inchoate’ starts off with some very vehement riffing that lays the foundation for Vinay Venkatesh to growl his way through the remaining duration of the song. An enjoyable track, however the Bhayanak Maut mark on the album is already very evident despite it being just the second song. ‘Stimulate, Hike, Impel, Tear’ delivers much the same but the drumming stands out and it lends a lot of high intensity energy to the song. The song’s lyrics too are a delight to read and quite graphic. The next two – ‘Soaked With The Imperfections Of Puerile Blood’ and ‘Emerge, Hatred, Emerge’, are among the better tracks of the album, and especially the latter with its gradual decrease in tempo towards the song’s end. The guitars are tight and they add a lot of texture in conjunction with Sahil’s tight drumming and Ashwin Shriyan’s confident basslines.

By now you pretty much know what the album is all about and you can’t but help find the songs a tad repetitive. The drums sound great, as does the bass, the riffs sound aggressive and the vocals are what you would expect from a vocalist who sounds as monstrous as Vinay. A great package all round, but not too many surprises so far. In fact at this point you’d probably find the song names more interesting than the actual music. Track number 9 is next in line for your listening pleasure, and it is a song simply titled as ‘O’.‘O’ successfully manages to break away from the tediousness that was in danger of taking this album down. Featuring a catchy guitar solo from the guest artiste, Demonic Resurrection’s very own Daniel Rego, this song has a lot of brutality and also that small dose of melody which keeps ringing in your head for days. The variety in texture as a whole makes ‘O’ a pretty decent composition and probably the stand-out track of the album for me. On to track number 10 and ‘Now You Graze Upon Me’ turns out to be another interesting song that also successfully avoids becoming monotonous; with impressive vocals, you almost feel like Vinay is breathing down your neck, waiting to rape you or maim you or something equally deadly. Also impressive is Sahil’s use of the double bass in this track. The album ends well with track numbers 11 and 12, ‘Marvelous Gods – The Apple Of My Eye’ and ‘Emergence – The World, Your Playground’, although the feeling of “been there, heard that” seems to creep upon you again, ever so slightly. But there are parts which make these songs stand out, including another nice guest appearance by Monsieur Rego, whose melodic guitar solo brings this album to its conclusion.

After listening to The Dawn of Consummation and Emergence it is very apparent that its lack of raw viciousness is something which lets this album down. Every top-notch death metal ditty ever composed has a rawness which would churn your stomach and which would blow your brains out on one listen. But the absence of this x-factor and also the very distinct Bhayanak Maut stamp on the album will not endear it to many fans of this sub-genre, especially to the old school death metal lover.

But that does not mean this is a bad album – far from it. What it lacks in the classic raw element, the album makes up by embracing the more mainstream metal aspect. And as pointed out, while the band might not have actually presented a signature Reptilian Death sound, yet there will be many takers for this album, including fans of both DR and BM. So if you love your music heavy and aggressive, if you are a fan of Vinay’s verbal vicissitude, hell, if you enjoy listening to Sahil play havoc on the drums, then you have more than enough reasons to get hold of this album and give it a spin. Chances are you won’t be disappointed, even though the repetitious nature of some of the songs might bog you down.


More Albums

The Invasion(EP) by Devoid The Kissing Flies by Albatross Made Love To The Dragon by Workshop